BetaONE will rise again!

Old 7th Jun 04, 06:50 PM

fritz122
Send a message via MSN to fritz122
This OS is real the Queen of Linux-Distros.
I hav downloadet this. I a Linux Newcomer, find the best what i hav testet.
I hav testet SuSE, Red Hat, Debian, and more and more.

I hav a liddle problem with the updates (Kernel usw. from Xandros Network-Site) after hav errors in the Soundserver. I hav updatet the ALSA -Sound from Xandros.

Can a another Xandros-Freak help me please ?

ok greetings to all here from fritz122 to germany
Old 7th Jun 04, 06:50 PM

Thankbot
1 User already said Thank You!

war59312
Old 7th Jun 04, 11:18 PM
BetaONE Supporter

rikytik is an unknown quantity at this point
This is what I have been saying for nearly 2 years and was disappointed that few people agree. I have version 2.0 and while I had no problems with server based updates, cannot tell you why you have update problems.

I have not been using Xandros much of late, and this weeked bought a LInux magazine (Linux Format) that included a full copy of Mandrake 10. I thought I would try that and see why so many people are staying away from Xandros.

I also got a copy of Suse 9.0 this weekend, but am not sure I have the time or energy to try all this stuff again. I spent so much time in previous years trying all the distros until Xandros 1.0 and then 1.1 and now 2.0 came along. Xandros seems to me to be the big answer to old time Windows users--simple to install, automatic Network configuration (windows and linux) and all drives get automatically mounted. Couldn't be nicer.

I wonder why there is so little interest in it. Small advertising budget I guess. Linux needs a "bill gates".
Old 8th Jun 04, 01:10 PM

craftyc
Quote:
Originally posted by fritz122@Jun 7 2004, 05:50 PM
I hav a liddle problem with the updates (Kernel usw. from Xandros Network-Site) after hav errors in the Soundserver. I hav updatet the ALSA -Sound from Xandros.