BetaONE will rise again!

Old 25th Dec 01, 09:07 PM
david42018

i just built my new rig today, MSI K7T266 Pro2, athlon xp 1900, radeon 8500, 256mb of PC-2700 OCZ ram, IBM 40GB 7200rpm ata 100, tdk cdrw drive. I set each IDE drive master on their seperate ide channel, i booted up, i see the post, it says "scanning IDE devices" then seconds later says "no IDE devices defined", then gives the option CTRL-F to enter FastBuild mode, or ESC to continue booting, when i hit CTRL F it just tries to scan for ide drives again, when i ht ESC it takes me to the bios and ive tried diff settings then saved and exited, it does the same thing. I have rechecked all the cables etc. one thing that i wonder about is the pin settin on the back of the Hd. i left it set as 15 pin, 0 Master, and i dont really understand those pins as to what it be set, i tried starting with a boot disk it tries to detect the disk and does noting except keep trying to detect the ide drives then just stops period. Im new to building computers and just need some help
Old 26th Dec 01, 12:53 AM

HamsterX
Send a message via MSN to HamsterX
Weird... What is really weird is that BOTH devices fail...

IBM HDDs are usually left as master at factory default. Better replace these jumpers, if you changed any. There's no need to change them when building a system from scratch.
The ATA-100 HDD needs the special, 80-thinwire IDE cable that comes with the mainboard.

The CD-RW drives are usually left as slave at factory default. If you really, really want it as master, check the jumper(s) in the back of the drive (usually there's a sticker for reference).

I think you should first replace the jumpers at factory defaults for both the CDRW and the HDD. If you are going to put one device in each cable, you really don't neet to change nothing.