BetaONE will rise again!


Reply
  #1  
Old 21st Sep 04, 07:38 AM
James55's Avatar
James55 James55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
James55 is on a distinguished road
What did you guys do to get the front page of the portal to show up first. I have installed it and renamed the renamed folder as "home" because I couldnt get the coding right in the index file. That works but the forums are the first page everyone sees
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st Sep 04, 02:40 PM
Bads's Avatar
Bads Bads is offline
BetaONE Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Quebec
Posts: 1,710
Bads is an unknown quantity at this point
Normally, this is in the PCA under general configuration
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st Sep 04, 08:29 PM
war59312 war59312 is offline
BetaONE Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
war59312 has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via MSN to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
Quote:
Originally posted by James55@Sep 21 2004, 02:38 AM
What did you guys do to get the front page of the portal to show up first. I have installed it and renamed the renamed folder as "home" because I couldnt get the coding right in the index file. That works but the forums are the first page everyone sees
[snapback]212894[/snapback]
This works for example:

<?php Header("Location: http://www.wars-realm.com/index.php?home"); ?>

Just save it as index.php in your main directory.
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003

Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 12:23 AM
war59312 war59312 is offline
BetaONE Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
war59312 has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via MSN to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
Quote:
Originally posted by James55@Sep 21 2004, 07:20 PM
What file do I put that code in? Not like I'm a pro at it like you guys. I can send somebody a copy of whatever file if they want to have a go at it.
[snapback]212976[/snapback]
Just open text bad and enter in this:

Code:
<?php Header("Location: http://www.wars-realm.com/index.php?home"); ?>
Of course change the url to yours.

Then save it as index.php. Make sure its not index.php.txt.

Then simply upload it to your web server. Normally you upload it into the public_html directory.

Then when someone vists your domain name then it will take you right to the portol. Changes urls of course.

Thats the easy way.
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003

Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 12:52 AM
James55's Avatar
James55 James55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
James55 is on a distinguished road
Tried that. It didnt work for me
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 02:13 AM
war59312 war59312 is offline
BetaONE Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
war59312 has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via MSN to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
Quote:
Originally posted by James55@Sep 21 2004, 07:52 PM
Tried that. It didnt work for me
[snapback]212980[/snapback]
Um you running running at least php 4.3 i think it is?

You do have php right? lol

What do you mean it does not work?

Is it plain text, blank white page, error message or something else?

Meta refresh of course works as well.

Code:
<META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT="0; URL=index.php?home">
You know just add to the head section of index.html for example.

Or just simply like this.

index.html

Code:
<html> <head> <META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT="0; URL=index.php?home"> </head> <body> </body> </html>
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003

Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 05:02 AM
James55's Avatar
James55 James55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
James55 is on a distinguished road
This what the some of the code looks like in the portal file that should be index.php but I had to rename it to "home" to get the portal to work. Anything that needs to be changed here? I tried to use "forums"(which is where my board is installed) but I got errors and it didnt work .Php version is 4.3.8

// Define the path to where the forums directory is
// located. This might be "./forums/" for example.
// Don't forget the trailing slash!

//define( 'ROOT_PATH', "./" );
define( 'ROOT_PATH', "./" );
define( 'KERNEL_PATH', ROOT_PATH.'ips_kernel/' );

// Define the URL to this script. If you're happy to
// use relative URLs - you can leave this blank.
// You can also rename the script here.

$this_script = 'home.php';
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 05:34 AM
James55's Avatar
James55 James55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
James55 is on a distinguished road
Im about ready to chuck it unless someone can un-confuse me. Actually the instructions say to upload the file to the public.html or www folder. When I do that it does absolutely nothing and by the way theres no file call index.html. Its useless as a second page unless I can get it to come up first.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 06:35 AM
James55's Avatar
James55 James55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
James55 is on a distinguished road
Now one more thing. How do you place a banner in the front page ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd Sep 04, 06:32 PM
war59312 war59312 is offline
BetaONE Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
war59312 has disabled reputation
Send a message via ICQ to war59312 Send a message via AIM to war59312 Send a message via MSN to war59312 Send a message via Yahoo to war59312
haha Good job. How do you think? :P

I have not even touched IPB 2.0 so dont have a clue what file to eidt or anything.

Sure its board.php or fourm.php or whatever. Sorry cant remember for the live of me and not home atm.
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003

Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unzipping question? SIRCOOKS Software Support 2 2nd Nov 04 03:00 PM
When posting a question User Needs Software Support 0 1st Nov 04 04:31 AM
For Dell and AMD, a tantalizing question NewsBot NeoWin News 0 26th Oct 04 03:30 PM
XP 64bit question volpe1564 Hardware Support 3 25th Mar 02 04:53 PM
Pentium Processor Question??? mayostudent Hardware Support 5 1st Oct 01 04:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Design by Vjacheslav Trushkin for phpBBStyles.com.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.