
21st Sep 04, 07:38 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
|
|
What did you guys do to get the front page of the portal to show up first. I have installed it and renamed the renamed folder as "home" because I couldnt get the coding right in the index file. That works but the forums are the first page everyone sees
__________________
|
|

21st Sep 04, 02:40 PM
|
 |
BetaONE Supporter
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Quebec
Posts: 1,710
|
|
Normally, this is in the PCA under general configuration 
__________________
|
|

21st Sep 04, 08:29 PM
|
BetaONE Supporter
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
|
|
Originally posted by James55@Sep 21 2004, 02:38 AM
What did you guys do to get the front page of the portal to show up first. I have installed it and renamed the renamed folder as "home" because I couldnt get the coding right in the index file. That works but the forums are the first page everyone sees
[snapback]212894[/snapback]
This works for example:
<?php Header("Location: http://www.wars-realm.com/index.php?home"); ?>
Just save it as index.php in your main directory.
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003
Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 12:23 AM
|
BetaONE Supporter
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
|
|
Originally posted by James55@Sep 21 2004, 07:20 PM
What file do I put that code in? Not like I'm a pro at it like you guys. I can send somebody a copy of whatever file if they want to have a go at it.
[snapback]212976[/snapback]
Just open text bad and enter in this:
<?php Header("Location: http://www.wars-realm.com/index.php?home"); ?>
Of course change the url to yours.
Then save it as index.php. Make sure its not index.php.txt.
Then simply upload it to your web server. Normally you upload it into the public_html directory.
Then when someone vists your domain name then it will take you right to the portol. Changes urls of course.
Thats the easy way. 
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003
Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 12:52 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
|
|
Tried that. It didnt work for me
__________________
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 02:13 AM
|
BetaONE Supporter
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
|
|
Originally posted by James55@Sep 21 2004, 07:52 PM
Tried that. It didnt work for me
[snapback]212980[/snapback]
Um you running running at least php 4.3 i think it is?
You do have php right? lol
What do you mean it does not work?
Is it plain text, blank white page, error message or something else?
Meta refresh of course works as well.
<META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT="0; URL=index.php?home">
You know just add to the head section of index.html for example.
Or just simply like this.
index.html
<html>
<head>
<META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT="0; URL=index.php?home">
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003
Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 05:02 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
|
|
This what the some of the code looks like in the portal file that should be index.php but I had to rename it to "home" to get the portal to work. Anything that needs to be changed here? I tried to use "forums"(which is where my board is installed) but I got errors and it didnt work .Php version is 4.3.8
// Define the path to where the forums directory is
// located. This might be "./forums/" for example.
// Don't forget the trailing slash!
//define( 'ROOT_PATH', "./" );
define( 'ROOT_PATH', "./" );
define( 'KERNEL_PATH', ROOT_PATH.'ips_kernel/' );
// Define the URL to this script. If you're happy to
// use relative URLs - you can leave this blank.
// You can also rename the script here.
$this_script = 'home.php';
__________________
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 05:34 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
|
|
Im about ready to chuck it unless someone can un-confuse me. Actually the instructions say to upload the file to the public.html or www folder. When I do that it does absolutely nothing and by the way theres no file call index.html. Its useless as a second page unless I can get it to come up first.
__________________
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 06:35 AM
|
 |
Senior Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Carmichael,California,Usa
Posts: 647
|
|
Now one more thing. How do you place a banner in the front page ?
__________________
|
|

22nd Sep 04, 06:32 PM
|
BetaONE Supporter
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 2,220
|
|
haha Good job. How do you think? :P
I have not even touched IPB 2.0 so dont have a clue what file to eidt or anything.
Sure its board.php or fourm.php or whatever. Sorry cant remember for the live of me and not home atm.
__________________
Ad Muncher Usage Statistics for v4.7 Build 27105/1624
Adverts removed by Ad Muncher: 1,601,933
Approximate bandwidth saved: 12,515 MB
Counter started: April 2, 2003
Download: http://war59312.admuncher.com/download.shtml
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:49 PM.
|
|